Thursday, April 30, 2009

A palid and pale 19th blog

I don't care what anyone says, old 411 rules. This Road Trip was excellent! It's a bit dark, but totally worth it to watch a non-bearded, young Mike York acting the fool.



Lots of goodies in this Chaos section too, including Quim doing some fancy wierd ollie out of a 50-50 at the banks.

Thursday, April 23, 2009

A downtrodden, decrepit 18th blog

What ever happened to the 60/40 girl? Tell me please.



Also, how come when people think of skaters they think of douchebags, and not Gino Perez?



ALSO, what happened to this dude?



Now that I'm officially done school for the summer, I'll try and steal more videos from those who were motivated enough to upload them.

Thursday, April 16, 2009

A thick, zesty 17th blog.

On the last day of school in Grade 9, my friends Sal and Justin got into this fist fight. It was the talk of the school for the whole afternoon, and I thought they were never going to talk again. Turns out they started hanging out again a few weeks later, which was really quite nice of them. That was good for me because I wasn't forced to choose a side, and I got to borrow Greatest Hits from Sal. All I had to do was lend him 4 Wheel Drive.

Sal is living in Hong Kong now, and I think Justin just got married. Girls used to really like Justin because of his very nice blue eyes and slightly darker complexion. You would've liked his eyes too if you saw them, guaranteed. He spent a brief stint of his high school career on Electric Circus too. Neat, huh?

Thank you Gest for posting this on the 'Tube.



















BTW, what kid was actually that into Chris Lambert? Of all people?

BONUS: please tell me what was better: EC in 1988, or EC closer to its untimely demise?

1988


vs.



SUPER BONUS:

I really don't like this blog. It's not funny, and I know that's the intent of it. Are most reasonable people getting tired of making fun of "hipsters"? Who do you think writes these blogs?

Wednesday, April 15, 2009

A filthy, unkempt 16th blog

Before we get to the video posted today, let me bore you with another stupid story. I was reminded of it because of the Treble Charger song used in this particular part. Yeah, you don't need to tell me - they suck - but this is really something else. Apparently Greg Nori ... story deleted so I don't get sued for libel.

I still really enjoyed this part.

Monday, April 13, 2009

A gnawing and gnashing 15th blog

Ty Evans wanted to create the "Hackers" of skateboard videos, so he decided to make "Genesis". I only put up the parts that I could find, and luckily enough, I couldn't find Felix' part.

Turn the volume down or your ears will bleed, and please try not to be pissed off at me if you have a seizure.











Couldn't find those weird interlude parts either. Thank you x20Cinema.

Friday, April 10, 2009

A fit and fanciful 14th blog

I don't think there's a person in the world who doesn't like Gino, so there's probably not much for me to say on this matter, except that I really liked the Axions he was wearing in the schoolyard line in this part (switch tail, nollie cab, back 180 nosegrind):



Roger Cobb had them, and my friend Andrew and I used to just absolutely gush over how awesome they were.

I think everything in this part was perfect, FYI. The line with the ollie up 3, nollie back heel down 3, switch 180 and back tail? Christ, eh?

Thursday, April 9, 2009

An unpleasant and not very nice 13th blog

One night I went to Che for some sort of skate-hangout-event-thingy and I had to pee really bad. Unfortunately, there was this awful line up and I was bumming. So my friend Jeans was all, "Man, just come across the street with me. I know Justin - he'll let you pee in his apartment." I clearly did not want to do this because a) I wasn't into the idea of pee'ing in the pad of a dude I don't know, and b) the dude probably wouldn't be into the idea either.

HOWEVER...Jeans was very insistent on me going over there to pee, so he pretty much dragged me over there (without actually physically forcing me) and we went up to the door. Justin clearly did not remember Jeans at that point, so it was basically the same as a stranger knocking on his door and asking whether another stranger could pee in his bathroom. Long story short, dude didn't let me pee in his place (obviously - I wouldn't have either), but I think he felt bad for me, because he said, "Dude, you gotta pee? Let's just pee on the building next to me. I have to pee too. Let's do this." So, we pee'd on that building together. That is hands down one of the wierdest things Jeans ever put me through. Thanks a lot man.



Wednesday, April 8, 2009

A vile, loathsome 12th blog

When I started skating with Pancer and Carny back in a year I can't reveal, ol' Matty and I would watch skate MUSIC videos because we didn't have any skate videos yet. Time For Livin' was the best thing ever we thought, even though the version my brother taped off of Muchmusic didn't have lyrics (for whatever reason). We would watch it on repeat and get jacked up in a way that only a 7th grader could get. It never occurred to me that the footage in that video was from an actual video because I was stupid.

Around that time, I was just straight up infatuated with skateboarding. It was so different from anything I was into, or anything my friends were into. It made me feel like I knew something that everyone else didn't, and I loved that. No one we knew was really skating at that point, except for a group of older dudes in our neighbourhood who didn't really like me or Matt, although they tolerated Shawn (Mike Couch, Rob Levesque, Liam Cormier, Andrew Mason, Ewan Williams, Dave Finch, and Craig Plue, even though he hit Shawn in the kidney with his skate really hard one day. I thought those dudes were the coolest, and I idolized them so much. They wore T-Bags, and always had these awesome t-shirts, and were rocking Etnies and Airwalks when I would be drooling over them in magazines.)

Also, I got into something that my brother was into, but I got into it on my own (he was getting really into Nine Inch Nails, obscure industrial, and Samhain around that time, and stopped wearing skate shoes in favour of combat boots and shorts). Ah crap, I digress - getting too nostalgic and whatnot. What I was saying, was that any music videos I saw with skating in it, I immediately became unhealthily obsessed with, and that set the tone for my continued obsession with skating from Grade 8 on. The Sonic Youth video still makes me feel like that precoscious prepubescent again (I hit puberty pretty late).

Matt, I found a copy with lyrics!







I also remember being very young and watching The Search for Animal Chin - I would always leave the room in that one concert/skate jam scene because the singer of the band said "sex".

Tuesday, April 7, 2009

A wild, untamed 11th blog

This sporadic blogging habit has got to stop. My excuse this time: getting into a car collision, and then obtaining that vomit-flu that made the rounds back home.

My gift to those who have waited patiently is hardly a gift, but it's still something, I begrudgingly guess.

Keitherton Hufnagelton









Keith's mane was so wild at one point - horselike, even.