Saturday, December 19, 2009

A vibrant, vivacious 25th blog

Everyone already knows how rad Bry is, and everyone probably has a different story of him beating people up.



He's still the best!

yay!

we miss you Bry!

Monday, December 14, 2009

An absolutely travulous 24th blog

Just like the title says yeah!

Wednesday, November 25, 2009

A wizard/warlock 23rd blog

Joe Castrucci is an editing warlock

















peruvian.

Wednesday, November 11, 2009

A relatively regal 22nd blog

I was facebooking earlier tonight, when Pancer reminded me that we're old. On the plus side, Palmer reminded me of this!






















Joshi is old enough to like this too, luckily.

Sunday, October 25, 2009

An All Male 21st Blog

I know it's been a while, and there's no excuse, but I'm making an attempt at jumping right back into the game. How long will this return last? I don't know. But I have to study tax, and I needed motivation, so I watched this:



Put..that coffee..down.

Sunday, May 3, 2009

A Dead Alive 20th blog

As you might have guessed from the title, I've given up posting skate videos I've found in favour of posting movie videos I've found.

This is one of those films that raised me to be the man I am today (the others being Hell Night, Kindergarten Cop, The Neverending Story, and that movie where the guy turns into a Cicada). I've had it three times, and lost it/lent it/had it stolen three times.

Enjoy a piece of gory, teenhood memories!























Anyone that wants to join the "I Heart Paquita Maria Sanchez Fan Club" is welcome to email me his/her CV and cover letter.

Thursday, April 30, 2009

A palid and pale 19th blog

I don't care what anyone says, old 411 rules. This Road Trip was excellent! It's a bit dark, but totally worth it to watch a non-bearded, young Mike York acting the fool.



Lots of goodies in this Chaos section too, including Quim doing some fancy wierd ollie out of a 50-50 at the banks.

Thursday, April 23, 2009

A downtrodden, decrepit 18th blog

What ever happened to the 60/40 girl? Tell me please.



Also, how come when people think of skaters they think of douchebags, and not Gino Perez?



ALSO, what happened to this dude?



Now that I'm officially done school for the summer, I'll try and steal more videos from those who were motivated enough to upload them.

Thursday, April 16, 2009

A thick, zesty 17th blog.

On the last day of school in Grade 9, my friends Sal and Justin got into this fist fight. It was the talk of the school for the whole afternoon, and I thought they were never going to talk again. Turns out they started hanging out again a few weeks later, which was really quite nice of them. That was good for me because I wasn't forced to choose a side, and I got to borrow Greatest Hits from Sal. All I had to do was lend him 4 Wheel Drive.

Sal is living in Hong Kong now, and I think Justin just got married. Girls used to really like Justin because of his very nice blue eyes and slightly darker complexion. You would've liked his eyes too if you saw them, guaranteed. He spent a brief stint of his high school career on Electric Circus too. Neat, huh?

Thank you Gest for posting this on the 'Tube.



















BTW, what kid was actually that into Chris Lambert? Of all people?

BONUS: please tell me what was better: EC in 1988, or EC closer to its untimely demise?

1988


vs.



SUPER BONUS:

I really don't like this blog. It's not funny, and I know that's the intent of it. Are most reasonable people getting tired of making fun of "hipsters"? Who do you think writes these blogs?

Wednesday, April 15, 2009

A filthy, unkempt 16th blog

Before we get to the video posted today, let me bore you with another stupid story. I was reminded of it because of the Treble Charger song used in this particular part. Yeah, you don't need to tell me - they suck - but this is really something else. Apparently Greg Nori ... story deleted so I don't get sued for libel.

I still really enjoyed this part.

Monday, April 13, 2009

A gnawing and gnashing 15th blog

Ty Evans wanted to create the "Hackers" of skateboard videos, so he decided to make "Genesis". I only put up the parts that I could find, and luckily enough, I couldn't find Felix' part.

Turn the volume down or your ears will bleed, and please try not to be pissed off at me if you have a seizure.











Couldn't find those weird interlude parts either. Thank you x20Cinema.

Friday, April 10, 2009

A fit and fanciful 14th blog

I don't think there's a person in the world who doesn't like Gino, so there's probably not much for me to say on this matter, except that I really liked the Axions he was wearing in the schoolyard line in this part (switch tail, nollie cab, back 180 nosegrind):



Roger Cobb had them, and my friend Andrew and I used to just absolutely gush over how awesome they were.

I think everything in this part was perfect, FYI. The line with the ollie up 3, nollie back heel down 3, switch 180 and back tail? Christ, eh?

Thursday, April 9, 2009

An unpleasant and not very nice 13th blog

One night I went to Che for some sort of skate-hangout-event-thingy and I had to pee really bad. Unfortunately, there was this awful line up and I was bumming. So my friend Jeans was all, "Man, just come across the street with me. I know Justin - he'll let you pee in his apartment." I clearly did not want to do this because a) I wasn't into the idea of pee'ing in the pad of a dude I don't know, and b) the dude probably wouldn't be into the idea either.

HOWEVER...Jeans was very insistent on me going over there to pee, so he pretty much dragged me over there (without actually physically forcing me) and we went up to the door. Justin clearly did not remember Jeans at that point, so it was basically the same as a stranger knocking on his door and asking whether another stranger could pee in his bathroom. Long story short, dude didn't let me pee in his place (obviously - I wouldn't have either), but I think he felt bad for me, because he said, "Dude, you gotta pee? Let's just pee on the building next to me. I have to pee too. Let's do this." So, we pee'd on that building together. That is hands down one of the wierdest things Jeans ever put me through. Thanks a lot man.



Wednesday, April 8, 2009

A vile, loathsome 12th blog

When I started skating with Pancer and Carny back in a year I can't reveal, ol' Matty and I would watch skate MUSIC videos because we didn't have any skate videos yet. Time For Livin' was the best thing ever we thought, even though the version my brother taped off of Muchmusic didn't have lyrics (for whatever reason). We would watch it on repeat and get jacked up in a way that only a 7th grader could get. It never occurred to me that the footage in that video was from an actual video because I was stupid.

Around that time, I was just straight up infatuated with skateboarding. It was so different from anything I was into, or anything my friends were into. It made me feel like I knew something that everyone else didn't, and I loved that. No one we knew was really skating at that point, except for a group of older dudes in our neighbourhood who didn't really like me or Matt, although they tolerated Shawn (Mike Couch, Rob Levesque, Liam Cormier, Andrew Mason, Ewan Williams, Dave Finch, and Craig Plue, even though he hit Shawn in the kidney with his skate really hard one day. I thought those dudes were the coolest, and I idolized them so much. They wore T-Bags, and always had these awesome t-shirts, and were rocking Etnies and Airwalks when I would be drooling over them in magazines.)

Also, I got into something that my brother was into, but I got into it on my own (he was getting really into Nine Inch Nails, obscure industrial, and Samhain around that time, and stopped wearing skate shoes in favour of combat boots and shorts). Ah crap, I digress - getting too nostalgic and whatnot. What I was saying, was that any music videos I saw with skating in it, I immediately became unhealthily obsessed with, and that set the tone for my continued obsession with skating from Grade 8 on. The Sonic Youth video still makes me feel like that precoscious prepubescent again (I hit puberty pretty late).

Matt, I found a copy with lyrics!







I also remember being very young and watching The Search for Animal Chin - I would always leave the room in that one concert/skate jam scene because the singer of the band said "sex".

Tuesday, April 7, 2009

A wild, untamed 11th blog

This sporadic blogging habit has got to stop. My excuse this time: getting into a car collision, and then obtaining that vomit-flu that made the rounds back home.

My gift to those who have waited patiently is hardly a gift, but it's still something, I begrudgingly guess.

Keitherton Hufnagelton









Keith's mane was so wild at one point - horselike, even.

Tuesday, March 24, 2009

A stiff, conservative 10th blog

Back! I'll be quick cause I need to do a paper tonight.
Pier 7 spot check. Audio is really low on this, but if you turn it up really loud, you can make out some fuzzy Mobb Deep!

Friday, March 20, 2009

A crushed and defeated 9th blog

It has been a tough few weeks, so take it easy alright? I know I always say "it'll never happen again" but this time, it'll never happen again.
For some reason, when it starts getting a little bit nice out, I feel like a little skate rat child, and it makes me want to act like I'm a teenager in the 90's again. I always wanted to skate and dress like Drake Jones when I was younger, so that's who I want to skate and dress like right now so I can recapture my failed youth in the glory of spring.



I even tried his hair for a while, but clearly, that didn't work out too well.

Wednesday, March 11, 2009

A sincerely apologetic 8th blog

I am sincerely apologetic for my slacking on this blog. I used school as an excuse, but really, that's never an excuse. So, without further adieu, here is Eastern Exposure Zero. This should be a nice segueway out of the East Coast Ode thing, although realistically, I have no idea where the hell this blog is going.



Sorry about all of the overlap footy from previous posts.

Thursday, March 5, 2009

A sultry, sullen 7th blog

So sorry I didn't blog yesterday, but I was sick and had lots of garbage to do last night (not a good excuse). So I guess we'll do a few more of these East Coast videos, because they're so much fun! This next one is a bit longer than the last few I've posted, since I feel so bad for letting my loyal 3 reader following down. It's really good maybe, I promise.





on an unrelated note, has anyone heard of "Saskatoon Berry Pie"? My one prof is always talking about it, but I think he made it up.

Tuesday, March 3, 2009

A calm, yet deceptive 6th blog

So, I guess this is part three of that east coast thing, and this one actually brings back memories of me taking a high school trip to said city - NOT for the American History lesson, but solely to skate. I was so frigging amped to skate that we got grounded our first night away because we went to a restaurant, tried to order beer, got denied, and came back past curfew. Our teacher ragged us out because "Washington is the murder capital of the United States" and I thought that was sort of a lie at the time. Regardless, I tried sneaking my skate onto the bus when we were going from our hotel to downtown, but the teacher was there to intercept it. So we ended up going to Pulaski, without our boards. That sucked. I wrote so many great essays for that dude too. Like, 2 or 3 of them.



*side note: the same teacher told my friend he was "intellectually pissing in the wind" for mentioning Hitler's one nut at the end of one of his papers.

Monday, March 2, 2009

A sharp and inquisitive 5th blog

No, you're right, it's not very sharp, nor is it very inquisitive. It is, however, the next blog in the East-Coast-Ode or whatever it was called last time. I can't think of anything clever or cute to write cause I'm sick as a dog right now, so I'll stop bothering you. This is Robbie Gangemi's part from Mixtape.



Sometimes I think I only like this because it hearkens back to a time when Busta Rhymes wasn't trying to be extra-sexy.

That's word to Dominique.

enjoy

edit: I changed my little Boglin photo and title of the blog cause there are too many other Bloglins already and I don't want to bite, I guess.

Sunday, March 1, 2009

A sleek, robust 4th blog

I guess this is the start to a mini Ode-to-the-East section here. Is that sort of lame? I don't know, whatever. The first part of this enthralling series is a Metrospective from 411 Best Of Volume II, and it includes Stevie Williams skating in Torsions, Bam wearing a Muska hat (it might actually be called a Bam hat now, but I'm not sure), and some dude named Jaesun. It also has Matt Reason's poo dreads, and Mike Maldonado with bleached hair.



There is not a lot of "f@#$ing $#*&" in this one.

Saturday, February 28, 2009

A brave new 3rd blog

My friend Matt Pancer used to have a VCR and Betamax-VHS player thing, and he used to tape all of the videos we had from VHS over to Beta. I seem to remember him then transferring the master video from Beta back to normal VHS, and voila - we had this terrible quality, but completely enjoyable videotape with all sorts of skate videos.

Matt,

If you ever read this, and you have that tape, I NEED to borrow it. I've been trying to find all those old videos, and it's not happening. I'm sorry that I took that tape for granted, and I apologize for not letting you borrow Mouse because I knew you were going to dub it for the master video.

Now that that's out in the open, here's the New Deal Promo thingy from 1996 (that's close to what it's actually called). Thank you to whoever uploaded this I guess. It's the next best thing to the version that was on that whatever generation videocassette.

But it's just not the same.






JB and Neil Urwin FTW!

Friday, February 27, 2009

A curiously alarming 2nd blog

Last time we met, we got to enjoy a happily dancing T-bag Olson, a glasses-laden Peter Smolik, and Tom Penny's magical board-slapping feet. We also learned that Jean Baptiste would morph into the now instantly recognizable and iconic JB! Wow! Magnificent!

This time we'll watch the first montage from Interface, and you can decide what's better: Andrew Reynolds' haircut, or Jeremy Deglopper's last name?



We should probably start a petition for someone/somewhere (I don't care where) to turn Jeremy Deglopper pro again (Reda's Tree Fort reference the other day on The Berrics was the best). Who wouldn't want a Jeremy Deglopper pro board? It sounds like he could be a Garbage Pail Kid (no offense if your last name is Deglopper - Garbage Pail Kids were so cool that there was a movie about them).

A somewhat interesting 1st blog

Apparently, this blog is going to be focused around nothing of importance. Just old Youtube skate parts and probably some other stuff I'm interested in that you may or may not care for. Let me know if this grates you or rubs you the wrong way. thx!





So, first! Etnies High 5!

Part 1:



Part 2:



Part 3 (youtube!):



p.s. I'm sorry that this post wasn't STRICTLY Youtube videos.